Pollen v. Brittany

So there is lots of suffering going on in the world right now. Yes, you named it. It’s allergy season. It’s spring and the pollen has come out to make everything pretty and alive again, except for my nose because it’s obviously trying to kill that. This isn’t a new thing for me. We have a lot of the same trees in Austin that are here in Savannah.

IMG_3310

I first started to feel the pollen in the air a few days before I left for Austin. I went out to get the oil changed in my car for the trip and the guy asked me if I wanted to replace the cabin filter. Yes, please! If I was going to drive cross country in the spring a new filter was just what I needed.

My first day in Austin I spent most of the day outside. Which was great my allergy meds were working and I could enjoy my day. It wasn’t until the second to last day that my meds failed. My nose requires tissue at an embracing rate. My parents kept asking me if I thought I was getting a cold. Apparently they had forgotten how bad my allergies could get.

When I was back in Savannah everything was noticeably greener. There were leaves in the trees again and pollen all over the cars. Everything was so pretty but I couldn’t be around any of it. It’s been a little over a week since I got back and just today I think all the pollen in the world decided to live in my head. Since I started writing this I have sneezed five times and I’m sure there are more to come.

Austin has a reputation for having a bad allergy season. Sometimes the pollen will be so thick that it will show up as a rain cloud on the weather radar. Once when I was little I was outside for recess and I saw this green cloud coming for the playground. It was very cool, and horrifying. After three years in Savannah, I can’t say if the allergies are that much better. Austin has more trees but Savannah has bigger ones. There is also a greater chance that it will rain in Savannah and the pollen will be washed away. In Austin, you have to wait it out. For now, I am just taking all of this fun stuff, and longingly looking outside.

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

