I voted (weeks ago)

Voting can feel like an exam. You have to study and keep yourself informed before the big test. A test that can effect you and the people in your community. It’s important grownup stuff that most people underestimate because they think their vote won’t matter. This time though when I voted I felt like I was cheating on an exam.IMG_3255

Voting can feel like an exam. You have to study and keep yourself informed before the big test. A test that can effect you and the people in your community. It’s important grownup stuff that most people underestimate because they think their vote won’t matter. This time though when I voted on my Travis County ballot I felt like I was cheating on an exam.

This is only my second election year so I am still a new be at this whole thing. But, every time I have gone into a voting booth there is something on the ballot I can’t remember, or didn’t know we were voting for. This time, I am going to college in Georgia and am registered in Texas so I voted by absentee. I had the ballot to my right and my computer to my left and I could look up all the answers, or so I thought.

The thing about the people running for Judge, Railroad Commissioner, and Sheriff is that they are all old. Which is nice in ways that it makes them wise in their profusions (hopefully) but it’s not that good when it comes to the internet. Most of them are inept when it comes to understanding how people use the world wide web. Out of the 49 people (on my ballot) who were running for something, only three of them had decent websites.

Now, I go to an art school so the bar is set pretty high when it comes to a good quality website. But, some of them didn’t have websites at all. Sometimes a Google search would only get a political Facebook account, or worse their Linkedin page. I could look up articles on the candidate but there weren’t a lot and some required a membership to the newspaper.

These are the same candidates who complain that we are not an informed electorate and that people my age should get more involved. But, they are the ones not doing their part by reaching out. It was very sad and pathetic. To add on top of that. When I filled out the
form asking for my absentee I had to check a box saying if I wanted the Republican ballot or the Democrat. Which is ridiculous! This is a voter ballot, not a menu at Torchy’s Tacos, ordering The Democrat comes with bigger stakes. What if I wanted to vote for a county Sharif who was a Republican and a President candidate who was a Democrat? The American voting system could really use some work, and it’s our job to point out the flaws by voting for those who we think will make a difference.

(This article has been updated)

This video mentions my county, Travis County. Not proud and this is why being an informed voter is important. So crap like this does not happen!

Leave a Reply

